It was my cousin’s 18th birthday 5 days ago. We didn’t go out to celebrate because her exams were going on. A few weeks ago, we were talking and she mentioned she likes strawberries very much. And so, I decided to try making the Victoria Sponge Cake.

I was watching Jamie Oliver the other day and he has this amazing recipe that I’ve been dying to try out.

This cake is inspired by his recipe, but I’ve tweaked it just a bit. Since we don’t have fresh strawberries available right now (I searched everywhere 😦 ) I decided to pour melted strawberry jelly over my cake. I also used strawberry jam to use as a spread between the cakes.

That’s my mom helping me. Because I broke the cake while cutting it in half. 😕😕😕

Pouring  melted jelly over the cake made the sponge really soft and gave this cool effect. Also, it enhanced the strawberry taste, which was awesome! 😋

Since we didn’t have fresh or just any strawberries to decorate with, my aunt helped me make candy strawberries.☺️😅


    
 

Everyone loved the cake! I was quite happy. The presentation isn’t that professional. Tbh my cake looks very childish. But this was my first try at the Victoria Cake and it was a huge hit. My family wants me to make it one more time and I will once strawberries are in season. ☺️
 

The second Mimi cut the cake and everybody finished singing Happy Birthday to her, my little cousins, Maryam and Mina, dug in and stole all the strawberry candies. 😂

   

 

IMG_1272

That’s my baby Maryam ❤

 

2 thoughts on “Mimi’s 18th

    • Oh. We don’t have frozen strawberries available here though. My mom got me the canned ones, and they looked so washed out and ugly and they were very soggy so I decided not to use them. 😟

      Awww thank you so much! ☺️

      Like

Leave a Reply

