Eid 2015

This Eid, which celebrates the end of Ramadan, is called Eid-ul-Fitr. Roughly translated, it means ‘feast that marks the end of the fast of Ramadan.” In Urdu, we call it Meethi Eid (Sugar Feast). Eid is celebrated for 3 days. Today was the first day.

IMG_0011

As traditions hold, we wake up very early in the morning, get dressed in new and fancy clothes, and head off to my Paternal Grandparent’s house where all of my family gathers for lunch and dinner. Extended family and distant relatives come to our house because my Dada (Grandpa) is the oldest in our whole family.

My Mom was given the job of cooking Mutton Pulao (Mutton Rice?), as always because she’s a great cook. She also made Chicken Ginger because four of her children do not eat red meat. My Khala (Mom’s sister) was in charge of vegetarian food (my Dada is a strict vegetarian) and she made the traditional sweet dish called Sheer Khurma. And my Chachi (Aunt) made Mutton Qorma (Mutton Curry?). I had pictures of the food, but my idiot brother deleted them from my phone. >.>

FullSizeRender

All of my girl cousins wore mehndi (henna) on their hands. I didn’t because

a. The smell really bothers me

b. I think it’s disgusting

c. It stinks. Ugh.

d. AND WHO WILL WASH IT OFF BECAUSE I REFUSE TO DO IT ON MY OWN. Hashtag disgusted.

Anyway. My Dadi (Grandma) wasn’t too pleased, though. She’s making me put on mehndi (henna) tomorrow. How will I live with the smell. Ugh. Don’t get me wrong, I think henna looks really beautiful, and it is big in our culture, buuut the smell is really bad. And it lingers. .-.

So, I will be wearing mehndi on my grandmother’s orders. Mom’s already called the mehndi artist to come in again later tomorrow.

Anyway, so where were we? Oh yes. So I wore this really beautiful outfit. It’s a traditional Shalwar Kameez, the Pakistani dress. To be honest, when my parents bought this for me, I didn’t like it. But when I wore it in the morning today, I fell in love with the color. So pretty! *_*

11230031_1465404427088477_3279570787781520066_n

I LOVE wearing dangling earrings. In my family, none of my cousins wear long earrings. I don’t know why. Earrings are my favorite accessory. I own a hundred pairs, I think! 😛 And yet, every time I see dangling earrings when I go shopping, I immediately buy. 🙂 ❤

Today was a good day, all in all. 🙂 My cousins and I had fun today. ❤ ALSO. I got money! The biggest perk of this Eid is the money, tbh. :3 I received Eidi (money) from my Dada, Dad, two uncles and one aunt. :’)

My Dad gave his favorite nephew 15 grand. Well, that was probably because it was his birthday, too. And I gave my brother, Hassaan, who is one of the twins, 6 grand. (Pakistani rupees, btw) I only gave Hassaan so much money, because I wanted him to do a chore for me. And I had to bribe him. -.-

Oh. And I still have to give Safi (the other twin) the same amount of money. Because he says it isn’t fair since they’re twins. I will be broke. Sigh. Being an older sibling is hard. Yes, I am strict with my younger siblings, but one puppy-dog look from them, and I am being emotionally blackmailed. Haha.

Also, that reminds me. I have to give Eidi to Mina and Maryam, too. Yup, I will definitely be broke by tomorrow.

Here are a few pictures! The rest are on my cousins’ phones.

IMG_0018

This is Irsa, fellow Gleek and cousin. 🙂

IMG_0064  IMG_0057

IMG_0108

This is Maha- Mimi, for short. Everyone says we resemble a lot ❤

IMG_0106

I look really weird here. Bunny ears showing. :/ Here we are. The girls of Agha Family. Minus three (who are absent).

2 thoughts on “Eid 2015

Leave a Reply

