GUYS GUYS GUYS

HOLY CRAP! OH MY GAWD! GUYS.

I did the impossible today. Well, impossible for me. You know how I’m deadly scared of heights and rollercoasters and stuff like that, right? Well. Today, I did something that I never would have done on a normal basis.

I’ve been feeling really crappy the past few days, despite me being on vacation and all. And I really wanted to do something reckless, something adventurous that would give me the thrill and excitement and basically, something that would take all my worries away.

So, I am currently in Mauritius with my family, and we’re sightseeing, obviously. Mauritius, as a whole, is a very beautiful place. I am a country girl at heart, so I was really impressed and fascinated with the beauty of its nature. It’s a peaceful place, definitely will go there on my honeymoon. *wink wink*

There’s a place we visited today, called La Valley des Couleurs, which is The Valley of the Colors (23 colors to be exact) when translated to English. And the whole experience was mindblowing! I was BLOWN AWAY. Seriously. The mountains, the trees, the landscape. To die for. People say Switzerland is heaven on Earth, and I used to agree. Because, Switzerland, duh. Yes, I know. Nothing can beat Switzerland, but Mauritius is just as breathtaking! I mean. I don’t like the hot weather or the beach much, but I found Mauritius really beautiful, too.

Despite the beautiful landscape and the sightseeing with family, I was feeling depressed and quite upset that it was hard for me to appreciate everything here. It was hard smiling and talking as if I was normal, and not breaking apart. However, taking pictures helped keep me distracted. But that didn’t last   long because I had nothing to do at night. I didn’t feel like reading, or watching TV. I don’t have my laptop, so no bingeing on TV shows. So, basically, I was pretty much lonely and sad.

Until today.

Okay. S0. There’s a bunch of activities in The Valley of the Colors. My brothers really wanted to try the Zip Line. Basically, the ride is that you go from one point to another connected by a rope. You wear a saddle type thingy and they strap you on to the line (rope) and you fly above trees and water and rocks. My dad and brothers were pretty stoked and wanted to do this. I didn’t really think about it when I said I wanted to do it. My family was surprised. Like. Seriously, VERY surprised. Because I’m a big scaredy cat when it comes to things like this. Last year, at Ferrari World in Abu Dhabi, my dad dragged me to sit in a really fast and a really stupid ride to make me overcome my fear. Yes. He dragged me. Yes, I was 23 at the time.

IMG-20141228-WA0067 IMG-20141228-WA0076

So, this is me while my dad was being briefed about the security and blah. No, the fear hadn’t sunk in yet, hence my super wide smile. Yes, I was totally hysterical and weird after the ride. 

Anyway. In the photos, the Zip Line ride looked pretty easy and not at all scary. So, we got into a truck and they drove us up, way up on the mountain. When I got there, I was shocked. It was nothing like in the photos. It was scary. The other mountain was so far away. So far away. OMG. And the drop was a thousand feet. A THOUSAND FEET. Or maybe more. We were up so high. I thought I’d pass out.

I started thinking weird stuff. What if I get stuck. Or fall? What if some plane crashes into me (which is unlikely, I know, but still). What if the rope gets cut off, what if it burns, what if I die? Oh God.

The guide told us to hold on tight to the strap. I was afraid. So were my brothers for a few seconds. Dad told us to be strong. He went first. He went so fast, I thought my knees would give away. My heart slowed down. After my dad reached the mountain on the other side, my 22-year-old brother went. And then, Safi, my 12-year-old little brother went. I was so scared. I was next.

My mom was there behind me. She wasn’t taking the ride, because she just had her uterus removed a few months ago and she doesn’t want to take any risks. The guide strapped me on, and told me to go. I couldn’t move. It was a good thing she was there. Because she told me I was brave and strong, and I had a lot of willpower and that I can do it. I was really scared. But I wanted to feel the thrill. I wanted to be dangerous. I live my life in the same rut. I always have. I never take dares, I never take challenges, and I absolutely never jump off a mountain, a thousand feet up in the air, holding onto just a flimsy piece of rope. No. I am cautious. I am careful. I am safe.

That moment was very crucial for me. Despite my fears, and the fact that my legs had stopped working, I still did it. I jumped off the mountain.

At first, I felt as if I was moving really fast, and my heart was in my throat and I looked down suddenly and that was a mistake because I flipped out. My grip on the strap got really tight and I shut my eyes and my heart stopped and I couldn’t breathe. I remembered God, yes. And suddenly. I felt the wind on my face, in my hair, the rush on my skin… I opened my eyes and looked around me. The world is so beautiful. There were lush trees, all green as the brightest emerald, the water was fresh and so pure, the sky was the bluest blue I’d ever seen, and the rocks looked like gems. It was so beautiful. And I was flying. I was truly flying…

When I was a little girl, my favorite movie used to Peter Pan. I was in love with the idea of Neverland, but mostly with the idea of being able to fly. Flying was the only thing I wanted to do. I used to jump off my bed, the couch, dad’s study table- hoping, wishing to be able to fly. I used to dream I was flying. And today. That dream came true. Kind of, but it did. The feeling was the same. I felt invincible. The wind was sharp, but gentle. It carressed me. I was breathless, yes. But it made me feel alive. It made me feel happy. I forgot all my worries, all my sadness, and my depression, and my hurt. I was living. Truluy living.

When I got to the mountain on the other end, I was flying really, really fast now. And I didn’t know how to brake and stop myself from hitting a pole or a treetrunk or whatever. Another guide was tehre to stop me. I was so hysterical that I couldn’t stand,a nd I was swaying. I reached for and hugged my dad and I was shaking and yelping, and now, when I think about it I was really stupid and it’s really embarrassing and thank God I never have to see those people again. *breathes out*

I am so embarrassed. I acted so weird. I was shaking and wanted to cry but couldn’t because my heart was pounding, and I was making these weird noises, er squeals. Ugh. God.

But. I did it. We went on the zipline three times after that to reach the ground. It was an amazing experience… I did have jitters every single time before I had to jump, yes. But I enjoyed it… I feel happy now. All my worries are gone. Well, They seem to. For now, that is. I don’t know. But. I am hoping to try skydiving next. My brother says he’s gonna do it, so I might tag along with him on this one.

One thing off my bucketlist. Finally. I’m so happy.


I’d post pictures, I did take them… But something went wrong with my phone. And I lost all of them. By all of them, I mean, only MY pictures. I have no idea what’s up with my phone. Sometimes, I want to throw it out the window, and burn it with fire. -.- :/

5 thoughts on “GUYS GUYS GUYS

  1. Zipline?!?! Excellent, I want to do that one day. Ferrari World in Abu Dhabi – I want to visit that too. It’s an excellent feeling when you’ve achieve a fear.. I love roller coasters, and I love sky diving. Would you give sky diving a go? Nice post!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Aw, hahaha. Thank you for reading! Means a lot… 🙂 ❤

      I'm actually frightened of things like these. I live a sheltered life. I don't do anything reckless or scary or adventurous, even though I love adventures.

      Ever since I was a child, I've been clawing my way out from sitting in roller coasters, but every single time, my uncle would force me to sit with him. So needless to say, my experience was really bad. And that's made me very cautious and a big scaredy cat.

      But, yes, you are absolutely right! I can't explain the feeling I got after overcoming my fear of taking the zipline. It was something I can never forget… I really wanted to try skydiving, too. But my parents thought it was unnecessary and risky, so they didn't let me do that.

      I will, though. One day. Need to cross off things from my bucketlist! 🙂 Thanks for the comment. ❤

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

