Safi & Hassaan

Safi & Hassaan

May 1st, 2002 was a beautiful day indeed. The sun shone bright in the cloudless sky, rejoicing in its sweet freedom. The winds gently whispered as the birds chirped harmoniously and the flowers seemed to bloom even fuller. This was the day when magic- life and hope- was in the air. This was the day we welcomed my twin baby brothers into this big, wild world.

From 3 siblings, we became 5, with me as the eldest. When my dad brought my younger siblings and I to the hospital to visit, my exhausted mother was overwhelmed with emotion as she held both babies in her arms. The sight was just scared, the bond between mother and child, in this case-children, was just beautiful to watch. What made it more ethereal was when my dad looked down at them with a smile on his face. Even though I was only 12 years old, I knew my father was overwhelmed with love. He could just stand there forever looking at them.

The moment was so private, so magical that my two younger siblings and I felt as if we were intruding upon them. My mother looked up and called me to her. Tears pricked my eyes as I walked over and placed my hand on my brothers’ cheeks. Their skin was so soft and smooth to my touch; it felt like a fine patchwork of silk. When I held their tiny frames against my chest, they smelled of anti-septic, milk, and of baby- of faith and of life.

Nothing can amount to the happiness that I felt as I held my baby brothers in my arms… God knows I love them to the moon and beyond.

My baby brothers are 12 today. *sniff* It feels as if it were just yesterday they were crawling and spitting and blubbering their baby talk. Wanna hear something funny? When mom told me she was pregnant with twins, I spent all 9 months praying for them to be girls. Haha. But yeah. I love them so much… And I hope they always remain loyal to me, as I am to them.

Leave a Reply

